Continuing Education Course Schedule


Gullah Geechee: Cultural Norms and the SLP

Presented by Jessica R. Berry, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

This course will examine the cultural & linguistic norms of the Gullah Geechee people. It will provide an overview of the language and cultural nuances that an SLP who is new to the region should expect from their clients. We will examine appropriate social and pragmatic responses to the culture and ways that clinicians can build rapport that embrace the client's cultural and linguistic diversity.

Live course: Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Time:
3 pm pacific | 4 pm mountain | 5 pm central | 6 pm eastern


This course is included in the Access Pass. Not a member? Use code BERRY at checkout to save $10 off your first month and support this presenter's work!


Home Assessments: Evidence-Based Strategies to Decrease Falls & Improve Mobility

Presented by Kara Welke, OTD OTR/L CLT

As the older adult population continues to grow at a rapid rate, occupational and physical therapists face new challenges in helping individuals age in place. Older adults often lack the knowledge, equipment and home set up to allow them to remain at home safely. This presentation will showcase the importance of home assessment and modification, and the role of rehabilitation professionals.

Live course: Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Time:
5 pm pacific | 6 pm mountain | 7 pm central | 8 pm eastern


This course is included in the Access Pass. Not a member? Use code WELKE at checkout to save $10 off your first month and support this presenter's work!


Introduction to Diagnostic Musculoskeletal Ultrasound in Hand Practice

Presented by Dr. Beshoy Ghaly, DPT, RMSK, ECS

This course is an introduction to the basic knowledge of diagnostic musculoskeletal ultrasound in hand clinical practice. The course will highlight basic hand tissue characterization and normal structural appearance on ultrasound. The course will also discuss common pathologies encountered during the msk ultrasound scan of the hand.

Live course: Thursday, December 16, 2021
Time:
4 pm pacific | 5 pm mountain | 6 pm central | 7 pm eastern


This course is included in the Access Pass. Not a member? Use code GHALY at checkout to save $10 off your first month and support this presenter's work!


Supporting Executive Functioning Skills and Self-Advocacy in Speech Therapy

Presented by Sara Valli, M.A., CCC-SLP; Assistive Technology Specialist

This course will explore ways to engage students in development of self awareness related to personal executive functioning strengths and challenges in order to effect lasting therapeutic impact. Executive functioning strategies, creation of a strategy portfolio, a template for a self advocacy letter to teachers/employers, example goals and objectives, and a resource list will be shared.

Live course: Saturday, December 18th, 2021
Time:
8 am pacific | 9 am mountain | 10 am central | 11 am eastern


This course is included in the Access Pass. Not a member? Use code VALLI at checkout to save $10 off your first month and support this presenter's work!


Gender Affirming Voices & Communication

Presented by Krysten Sears, M.S., CCC-SLP

What a privilege it is that we, as speech-language pathologists, are in such a unique position to help people communicate. For many, our voice is part of our identity. What happens, though, when our voice does not match our identity? SLPs play a unique and integral role in helping individuals find and practice their voice in a safe manner. Everyone deserves a voice that reflects who they are.

Live course: Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Time:
4 pm pacific | 5 pm mountain | 6 pm central | 7 pm eastern


This course is included in the Access Pass. Not a member? Use code SEARS at checkout to save $10 off your first month and support this presenter's work!