You survived 2020. As we enter 2021, we invite you to join us for a two-hour support call packed with information and connection. Designed by therapists, for therapists, we can't wait to see you there!

This is a space where OTs, COTAs, SLPs, PTs, and PTAs can come together and feel supported, served, and connected. At the end of our structured agenda, there will be a moderated open mic session at the end for stories, questions, observations, and support.

Wednesday, January 27, 2021
5pm pacific | 6pm mountain | 7pm central | 8pm eastern

This support call is free. Registration is required. Sponsored by Therapy Insights.


Live COVID-19 Support Call — Agenda

5:00-5:45 pacific
6:00-6:45 mountain
7:00-7:45 central
8:00-8:45 eastern


Robin Wackernah

Senior Clinical Pharmacist
Craig Hospital

Virus with A Vengeance: A Clinical Review of the Neurological Sequelae Associated with COVID-19 Infection

This presentation will review the neuological symptoms that have been reported with COVID-19 infection. In addition, the potential entrance of COVID-19 into the central nervous system will be discussed along with the potential mechanisms involved.

Objectives:

1. Summarize the current status of COVID-19 in Colorado and the United States as of 1/27/21.
2. Describe the angiotensin 2 (ACE2) receptor and its role in the neurological symptoms associated with COVID-19.
3. Discuss the neurological symptoms that may present with COVID-19 infection.
4. Describe the possible pathophysiology of the neurological manifestations of COVID-19.

Survey Question #1

We will be running three live survey questions throughout the call in order to gather informal data regarding what clinicians are seeing with their patients. Participation in these surveys is optional for all attendees. Surveys will take place during the event in the Zoom webinar room.

5:45-5:50 pacific | 6:45-6:50 mountain | 7:45-7:50 central | 8:45-8:50 eastern

Yes or no: At least one patient I have worked with who had a diagnosis of COVID-19 has complained of long-term "brain fog" or other cognitive impairments lasting longer than 3 months.

5:50-6:15 pacific
6:50-7:15 mountain
7:50-8:15 central
8:50-9:15 eastern


Interdisciplinary acute care team

Meghann Griffin, MEd, CCC-SLP
Kyle J. Ridgeway, PT, DPT, CCS
Julia Smith, MS, OTR/L

Care of COVID-19 Patients in the Acute Care Setting

An interdisciplinary acute care team presents lessons learned throughout the pandemic and offers tips and insight for other teams who want to sharpen policies and procedures for the most effective patient care.

Survey Question #2

We will be running three live survey questions throughout the call in order to gather informal data regarding what clinicians are seeing with their patients. Participation in these surveys is optional for all attendees. Surveys will take place during the event in the Zoom webinar room.

6:15-6:20 pacific | 7:15-7:20 mountain | 8:15-8:20 central | 9:15-9:20 eastern

Yes or no: At least one of my patients died without the comfort of friends and family able to visit them in person during their time at our facility.

6:20-6:30 pacific
7:20-7:30 mountain
8:20-8:30 central
9:20-9:30 eastern


Sarah Adleman, C-IAYT, RYT-500, CBIS, MFA

Sarah is a certified yoga therapist specializing in work with traumatic brain injury and will lead us in a collective moment of breath and reflection.

The Refuge Inside

Join in this collective moment to breathe and center into the internal refuge of Peace and Compassion, building the pathway into this place of rejuvenation.

Survey Question #3

We will be running three live survey questions throughout the call in order to gather informal data regarding what clinicians are seeing with their patients. Participation in these surveys is optional for all attendees. Surveys will take place during the event in the Zoom webinar room.

6:30-6:35 pacific | 7:30-7:35 mountain | 8:30-8:35 central | 9:30-9:35 eastern

Yes or no: As of today, I have been provided an opportunity to get the vaccine if I wanted it.

6:35-6:50 pacific
7:35-7:50 mountain
8:35-8:50 central
9:35-9:50 eastern


Oak Reed, MA

Coping with Pandemic Fatigue and Managing Burnout: Self-Care Strategies for Clinicians

Many clinicians have lost their jobs, put their health and families at risk, and watched the horror of COVID-19 unfold in settings where families are not allowed to be present during deaths, not allowed to visit, not allowed to accompany loved ones during medical trauma. As a result, fatigue regarding dealing with the pandemic and overall clinician burnout are overwhelming the healthcare field. I hope to normalize this experience and share skills regarding how to practice self-care and engage in self-compassion.

6:50-7:00 pacific
7:50-8:00 mountain
8:50-9:00 central
9:50-10:00 eastern


Helen Graves, MA, CCC-SLP, CBIS

Light of a Clear Blue Morning

This song was originally written by Dolly Parton who described it as a "revelation of clarity and the promise of a brighter tomorrow." The message of this song is simple but impactful, and relevant not only to how many of us are feeling about the year we just had, but also to our role as rehabilitation therapists. Often we are the voices encouraging our patients through the hard times, and sometimes we too need to hear the simple promise that "everything's gonna be alright, it's gonna be ok."

Helen Graves is a professional speech-language pathologist and non-professional musician in Fairbanks, Alaska. While primarily medically based, she has recently ventured into the world of private practice, with a focus on using music to support speech and language development.

Moderated Open Mic

7:00-7:30 pacific
8:00-8:30 mountain
9:00-9:30 central
10:00-10:30 eastern

Participants are welcome to request their mic be turned on at this time. Discussion will be open and moderated via audio/video discussion and chat text. We encourage any participants with questions to ask, stories to tell, or information to share to request their mic be turned on. Please note that this event will be recorded and made publicly available and the moderator will be following all HIPAA regulations.